Move desktop application data to another folder

Note
This Guide applies only to the desktop edition.

When you use the desktop edition, Manager initially saves all your business data files to its default application data folder. The application data folder is where Manager probes for *.manager files, each file representing a separate business. Each file contains all of a single business’ accounting data, settings, attachments, emails, and history.

There are two ways you can move business data to another location:

  • Change the application data folder
  • Move a business data file

Change the application data folder

When viewing the list of businesses under the Businesses tab, the current application data folder path and a control button for changing it are in the bottom left corner. The default data path varies by operating system (and may be hidden in the operating system’s normal file management view). Once a change has been made, a control button for resetting the application data folder to the default location is also shown:

Changing or resetting the folder does not modify or delete any of your businesses, their settings, or attachments. It merely tells Manager where to look for *.manager files. Changing the folder also does not move any business data files to or from that location. (See below.)

To change the application data folder, whether into the cloud or onto any accessible drive, first create the new folder.

Example
You want to move your data to Dropbox and have created a Manager folder within the Dropbox folder on your computer:

Next, click on the Change Folder button. A file browsing window will open. Browse for and select the new folder. At this point, the Businesses tab will be empty:

Now you have two choices:

  • Use the Add Business button to import the business files from the old application data folder. (You may have to make hidden files visible.)
  • Using your operating system’s file management tools, move all files with the *.manager extension from the old application data folder to the new one. They will automatically appear on your Businesses page. Do not move any other files. And do not move or delete the folder.

If you install Manager on another computer from which the new application data folder is accessible, you do not have to import or move any files, because all files are already in the folder. Selecting the new application data folder on the other computer will make the same data available.

Note
Changing your application data folder location to Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, Dropbox, iCloud, or some other synchronized folder is often a good practice. This means your businesses in the desktop edition will be automatically and continuously backed up.

Cautions
Importing a business file to the new application data folder does not remove it from the old location. The file remaining there will not be updated as you work with the file in the new application data folder. Therefore, to avoid confusion and potential loss of data, it is advisable to remove the corresponding file from the old application data folder after importing the business to the new location.

If you use cloud storage, do not use Manager from multiple computers on the same business at the same time. Cloud services are not good at merging changes among users working on the same file. Simultaneous multi-user access requires the server or cloud editions of Manager.

After changing the application data folder location, do not delete the original folder. Manager uses it to store housekeeping information, including the location of the new application data folder.

Move a business data file

A second way to store data elsewhere is to create a backup of the business in the desired storage location. Then, rather than launching Manager and selecting the business from the list of businesses on the Businesses page, open the data file directly from the remote location using your computer’s operating system features. This action will launch the Manager application; the business will be active.

Note
Whenever Manager has opened a business file directly, a separate instance of the Manager application is launched. If a business is subsequently removed from this instance, a Trash folder will be created in the same folder as the standalone business file. Removed business files will be moved to that special Trash folder.

Caution
Opening a file directly does not add it to the application data folder, so it will not appear in the list on the Businesses page when your regular installation of Manager is launched. To avoid confusion and potential, accidental recording of accounting transactions in the wrong file, remove the business from the application data folder, leaving only the remotely stored copy.

Get Involved
Subscribe to Updates

Subscribe to our newsletter and get exclusive product updates you won't find anywhere else straight to your inbox.

© 2021 — Based in Sydney, Australia but providing goodness globally